Chakra Meditation and Brainwaves

The objective of chakra meditation is to attain liberation while living (jivanmukta). This is the state where mind is full of bliss and free from all fluctuations and negativity. The mind abides in its pure state of consciousness. In this state mind is free from all attachments to persons, ideas, opinions, ideology and worldly things. In this state people often exhibits a high level of holistic functioning full of love and wisdom that unites multiple senses and perceptions. It is a state of completely synchronized neural activity in the brain.

Types of Meditation:

Chakra Meditation: Heart Center LotusThere are three types of meditation practices. The first is the Open Monitoring or Mindfulness Meditation (MM), which involves the detached, non-judgmental witnessing of thoughts, feelings, and sensations over the entire phenomenal field. The second is Focused Attention or Concentration Meditation (CM), which involves focusing on a meditative object such as certain thought constructs (prayers), internal image, mantra (a repeated sound), specific body sensations (e.g., the breath) and various emotions (e.g., joy). The third one is the combination of concentration meditation and mindfulness meditation. Chakra meditation is the combined nature of meditation. It includes both awareness and concentration. It requires first concentration on the chakras, and then non-judgmental awareness about the sensations and the feelings. Chakra meditation has four parts: focusing on a single chakra at a time, letting go of everything else, visualization and the feeling of the sensations.

Chakra Meditations and Brainwaves:

There are seven major chakras and twenty one minor chakras in our body. The Heart Chakra is in the middle. It connects the spiritual and the material world. Chakra meditation  includes twenty eight points (7+21 = 28) systematic meditation technique intended to awaken all the seven major energy centers and to revitalize the twenty one minor energy centres. These energy centers are known as Chakras. Chakra healing promotes health, harmony and all well-beings. Theta-Gamma state of the brain is considered as the highest healing state. Chakra meditation is the ancient practice to reach that healing state of the mind. A theta state (4–7.0 Hz) is a very deep state of relaxation. Theta brainwaves are related to spiritual sensations, creativity and inspiration. Theta brainwaves are associated with our subconscious mind, which is the store house of memories, sensations, beliefs, attitudes and behavior. The subconscious mind exists below the conscious mind.

Gamma waves (25–42 Hz or above) is the state of enhanced awareness. Gamma waves release Beta endorphins in the brain, which brings positive feelings and happiness. Gamma wave is associated with a number of cognitive functions including consciousness itself and also the perception binding process. Gamma wave is the state of high-alertness, perception, and integration of sensory input.

Chakra Meditation BrainwavesIn chakra meditation, theta waves collaborates with gamma waves and generates peace, happiness and joy . These two waves produces optimum healing effect, relaxation and alertness in mind and body.

Seven Major Chakras:

These seven points are the base chakra, the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the navel chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the chakra of the brow, and lastly the crown chakra. chakra meditationThese points on our body receive energy from the people in our environment and transmit energy to the people in our environment. Hence, they also influence us mentally, emotionally, and affect our daily activities including spiritual activities that we may do. The chakra locations colors are as follows:

  1. Crown Chakra – Top of Head – Violet
  2. Third Eye/Brow Chakra – Above & between eyebrows – Indigo
  3. Throat Chakra – Base of throat – Blue
  4. Heart Chakra – Centre of chest – Green
  5. Solar Plexus Chakra – Just above navel – Yellow
  6. Sacral Chakra – Just below navel – Orange
  7. Root/Base Chakra – Base of spine – Red

The next post discusses on Chakra Meditation for Opening the Heart Chakra.

Previous                                                                                                     Next

Reference: Awakening Inner Guru By Banani Ray and Amit Ray

Comments are closed.